Love, California

I have just returned home from California. My sister had just moved there in the end of August beginning of September. Kailie and I have always had a really good relationship. I think for a while we seriously hated each other, but all siblings go through that kind of thing.. or at least I hope so. We have always been best friends. What’s so funny is that we both are very much like opposite sides of our family. I am the spitting image of my mother. I resemble her in my looks and personality. Kailie is more like our father, not exactly, just more like him than I am. She would strangle me for saying that but it is a fact that we are both very aware of.  As  sisters we really get along. Our relationship can survive on few texts and missed calls because when we finally come together we make up for lost time without being sad that that time was lost in the first place. I know that I can always pick up on the same page with her.

Anyways, that is just to give you a good idea of how we work. Finally, I went to go visit her! I bought my ticket way back in October so I had been really anxious since then to get on a plane and go somewhere. It wasn’t until the 14th (I left on the 15th) that I realized I hadn’t seen my boys in over 2 years. 2 years. That is 730 days. I couldn’t believe it had been so long since I had hugged them. I sat and thought about this on my plane ride. My brain was having a hard time wrapping itself around that idea because I cherish the Fuller family so much. I immediately felt like I was apart of their family the moment I stepped into their home 2 years ago. I knew that Marlon and West were special the moment I met them 5 years ago. I know now that I don’t ever want to let them go. I don’t ever want 2 years to pass between hugs. Here are some photos from my trip, and I wish I had taken more. But we always wish that we had taken more photos. Right?

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Then there’s me…

My trip, was more then I asked for. I say that in the best way possible. What I mean is that I didn’t ask to see my life differently after this trip and I didn’t asked to be treated unconditionally by people who aren’t even my flesh and bones. That’s what I got though. I think that as you get older and more seasoned you really start to see the value in things. You start to see the struggle in everyone and that makes you appreciate them so much more.

To preface the thought I am about to make: I was raised in a house with turmoil. I grew up with a dad who wasn’t around because he couldn’t find it within himself to take medication for his problem. He couldn’t do it for his kids, his wife, or stick to his selfish tendencies to do it for himself. I am bitter about love. I am hard headed about marriage. I avoid relationships with people. That is not because of a boy. That is because my father broke my heart long before anyone else had the chance to.

My sister is so in love and that makes me the happiest person on the earth. She is in love with a man who treats her right and takes care of her. This is something you want for your siblings. I always wanted my sisters to grow up and marry wonderful men. I have always wanted them to find the good ones out there. I spent the weekend with men who make believe that they aren’t all rotten. I spent time with sincerely good men and men that are good to their wives. Men who have respect. I spent time with men who are vulnerable, and kind. Observing people like this changes you. So I have to say thank you for that.

Sylvia Fuller, you have raised good men. Remember that.

Untitled

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

About mariahlphoto

I am photographer is thriving on new expiriences and learning new things! Photography is my passion and I can't wait to spend my life pursuing it!

One comment

  1. Tacey

    Just stumbled upon this post! Very raw and unexpected and very touching 🙂 I hope you keep being honest and self-reflective like this ❤

Leave a comment