Dear Future | Sincerely, Me

Ribbet collage

Part I

Back in December I took photos of my two very good friends. To document their engagement of course! We set out on Christmas day ready for adventure. I met them early in Issaquah just as the sun was coming up.  Our first destination was Rattlesnake Ledge, one of the most outstanding hikes I have been on so far. For a long time I saw photos of this view and heard whispers about how beautiful it was. I had made the trek not to long ago with another good friend of mine and it was everything I wanted it to be. It was beyond gorgeous, it was terrifying, and it was physically challenging. Of course though in a photographers mind: I can’t wait to immortalize this in a photograph. Therefore, I knew that this scene would be a perfect fit for my favorite flavors. We left Issaquah behind and headed towards our destination on the Christmas day roads that made us feel as if we driving on a post apocalyptic version of I-90. Once at our destination we made our way up to the mountain side. Note to self: It’s difficult to hike when you are wearing street clothes… although this hike is beautiful maybe not the go to destination for shoots. At last we make it up to the top of the  mountain and we all just take a minute to soak it up. Then we commence with some Instagram selfies and a few chuckles here and there. Then we danced, and we cried, and we laughed, and had a really really really good time! (Macklemore reference ya’ll) Photo sessions are always really awkward at first because nobody knows how to behave when the camera is pointed at them, especially when it comes to PDA. Then, after everyone gets over it is when the fun really starts and oh did we have fun. After North Bend we hit this cafe AKA the only place open on Christmas and they were closing in like 20 mins. Back to Issaquah we journeyed! Check the last portion of the photos our because these are sweetest ones from the day. We finally finished up the session – with the sun finally falling behind the horizon. I felt content. I felt exhausted from the hike. I felt happy to have friends like them.

Part II

So while hearing about our adventures is great, it’s not the point of my post. It certainly doesn’t have much to do with my title either. So why am I here? What does this have to do with me? Three years ago I met somebody really cool. Her name is Jenaya. She is getting married in 2 days to her very best friend. So I’m not writing to my future or the general future. I am writing a letter for her, and her future.

My dearest Jenaya,
I have grown very fond of you. It’s hard to keep precise track of where this all began but whenever it was, I’m grateful for it all.  It’s so funny thinking back to when I first met you. In my head you were, “Just one of Gabby’s friends.” Also, you had really nice hair. I didn’t keep up with you because I was 17 and pre-occupied with everything else that was going on around me. With how my hair looked and what boys would be at what event.. you know how that all goes. Then I started hanging out with this goofy kid, and I was more then happy to find out that you two were a packaged deal. Things got rough there for a second. I’m glad that they happened the way that they did though because if they didn’t then we might not be the way we are now. Isn’t that funny how life works? I look up to you though. You have an enormous amount of courage, gusto, and grace. Now I have to give you away though. I can say with a happy heart that I am handing you off into strong hands. Capable hands. The boy that I once knew is now a man and I know he will care for you. I can’t wait for your adventure to start. I can’t wait for us to have our random hang out sessions and I no longer hear about the love lost but the love gained. Love that grows with someone who you have always wanted and will want. Despite how difficult the last couple of weeks have been it will all fade away when you are up there with Colton. I know it’s scary because the future isn’t certain, but you have love. I know that I can’t give you marital advice. I found something though and I felt moved by it. So here it is.

“I am not the first person you loved. You are not the first person I looked at with a mouthful of forevers. We have both known loss like the sharp edges of a knife. We have both lived with lips more scar tissue than skin. Our love came unannounced in the middle of the night. Our love came when we’d given up on asking love to come. I think that has to be part of its miracle. This is how we heal. I will kiss you like forgiveness. You will hold me like I’m hope. Our arms will bandage and we will press promises between us like flowers in a book. I will write sonnets to the salt of sweat on your skin. I will write novels to the scar of your nose. I will write a dictionary of all the words I have used trying to describe the way it feels to have finally, finally found you. And I will not be afraid of your scars. I know sometimes it’s still hard to let me see you in all your cracked perfection, but please know: whether it’s the days you burn more brilliant than the sun or the nights you collapse into my lap your body broken into a thousand questions, you are the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. I will love you when you are a still day. I will love you when you are a hurricane.” –Clementine von Radics  Mouthful of Forevers

Since I can’t describe myself in words, I hope my photographs can speak to you. I am so excited for Friday, and for your adventure to start.

IMG_0049 IMG_0060 IMG_0069 IMG_0070 IMG_0082 IMG_0091 IMG_0065 IMG_0094 IMG_0095-2 IMG_0105-2 IMG_0119 IMG_0121-2 IMG_0123 IMG_0136 IMG_0138 IMG_0143 IMG_0151 IMG_0222 IMG_0235 IMG_0238 IMG_0274 IMG_0265 IMG_0255 IMG_0276 IMG_0281 IMG_0284   IMG_0298-2   IMG_0308-2   IMG_0310   IMG_0311 IMG_0312 IMG_0376 IMG_0394

IMG_0382

IMG_0423

IMG_0424

About mariahlphoto

I am photographer is thriving on new expiriences and learning new things! Photography is my passion and I can't wait to spend my life pursuing it!

Leave a comment